Advertisement

Boutique Brands

button

Who's visiting?

We have 261 guests and no members online

Cigar Reviews

Case Study CS/02 Robusto

Case Study CS 02 Robusto 1October 30th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5 inches by 50 ring gauge

At the 2017 IPCPR Convention, Ventura Cigar Company introduced a new, broad line of cigars. Actually, they introduced 26 new lines.

This massive product launch is notable for more than its size. First, the lines commemorate 26 iconic, post-World War II homes in the Los Angeles area that were built in the minimalist, modernistic aesthetic. The 26 unique blends pay homage, with their straight-forward black and white bands, to the simple and efficient styles of the homes.

Read more...

Why You May Want to Complement Your Usual Cigar with Dokha

Dokha 1October 26th, 2017

As is the case with cigars, dokha comes from a rich and varied history. Dokha has been cultivated in the Arabian region for more than 500 years, making it one of the oldest types of tobacco in the Middle East. It first appeared during the 1400s in the northern region of what is now known as Iran. Dokha is a tobacco that is naturally grown in the Arabian region’s arid desert climate.

Originally smoked by sailors out at sea, dokha subsequently became the widely preferred tobacco within the Ottoman Empire. Its popularity grew even more when the Ottoman Empire unsuccessfully attempted to ban and outlaw the smoking of all tobacco.

Read more...

Casa Cuevas Connecticut Robusto

Casa Cuevas Connecticut Robusto 1September 25th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5 inches by 52 ring gauge
Wrapper: Ecuadorian Connecticut
Binder: Nicaraguan
Filler: Dominican & Nicaraguan

This attractive cigar comes from Casa Cuevas Cigars, located in Miami, Florida. The blend consists of a golden Ecuadorian wrapper with Nicaraguan and Dominican long fillers.

I decided to pair this ‘morning cigar’ with Starbucks Sumatra black coffee. I typically smoke Connecticut cigars in the morning with coffee.

Read more...

AJ Fernandez Enclave Broadleaf Robusto

Enclave Robusto 1October 23rd, 2017

Vitola: Robusto (5 inches by 52 ring gauge)
MSRP: $9.00
Wrapper: Connecticut Broadleaf Maduro
Binder: Nicaraguan
Filler: Nicaraguan

Before I start my review, I must admit I am somewhat biased when it comes to the AJ Fernandez line. I am a big fan. Some of the first cigars I ever smoked were from this line. That being said, let’s get to the review.

When I first heard about the Enclave Broadleaf, I was a little thrown off. I was not a huge fan of the original Enclave. I thought it had a little too much pepper/spice for my liking. (I am going to try it again to see if that assessment stays the same.) But Kyle (an AJ rep) told me that the newer Enclave Broadleaf was not like the original, and suggested I think of it as a totally different cigar.

Read more...

A Freyja Cigar with Rye Whisky

Freya Alberta Rye 1

September 21st, 2017

"Great things come in small packages," the saying goes. Tabacleria Palma in the Dominican Republic is a smaller factory, and just happens to make the brainchild cigar of Emma Victorson (wife of our good friend, Jose Blanco) - the Freyja.

The Freyja is not what you'd call a 'girly' cigar - not by any strech of the imagination. Rather, it's more like a Viking goddess - strong, smooth, comforting and fierce, all at the same time. So for this review, I decided to pair it with some Dark Batch Rye Whisky from Alberta Distillers (get the name!).

Let's talk about the rye first. And when I begin to describe the cigar, you'll know why pairing the Freyja with this spirit represents a 'match made in Heaven'.

Read more...

White Hat Cigars Hirochi Robaina: A Triple Review

HR x 3 1October 16th, 2017

White Hat Cigars distributes the Hirochi Robaina (HR) line of cigars. If the name Hirochi Robaina sounds a little familiar to you, that’s probably because Hirochi is the grandson of revered Cuban tobacco grower and expert Don Alejandro Robaina. The HR line of cigars is made at the La Corona Factory in Esteli, Nicaragua.

Read more...

Drew Estate Herrera Estelí Miami Corona

Drew Estate Herrera Estelí Miami Corona 1September 18th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5.75 inches by 48 ring gauge
Wrapper: Ecuadorian Habano
Binder: Ecuadorian Sumatra
Fillers: Dominican & Nicaraguan

The Miami version of the Herrera Estelí blend is rolled at the El Titan factory, the ‘home’ factory of Willy Herrera.

Cloaked in an oily Colorado colored wrapper with one noticeable vein, my sample had a nice firm bunch. The wrapper and foot gave off aromas of leather, cocoa and cinnamon, while the cold draw of the Corona was perfect. My chosen accompanying beverage was a Real Ale Three Lions IPA.

Read more...

Case Study CS/01 Robusto

CS 01 Robusto 1October 9th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5 inches by 50 ring gauge

This review is truly a blind tasting write-up. My sample from the 2017 IPCPR show was given to me to review with no information other than the band on the cigar. I’d never heard of Case Study, and knew absolutely nothing about it. So I had no preconceived notions. I even resisted the temptation to google the brand before I fired the cigar up. You’ll find the leaf details and name of the manufacturer at the end of this piece. With that said, here’s what I found.

Read more...

A.J. Fernandez Enclave Broadleaf Robusto

AJ Fernandez Enclave Broadleaf Robusto 1September 11th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5 inches by 52 ring gauge
Wrapper: Connecticut Broadleaf
Filler leaves: Nicaraguan

New as of this summer, A.J. Fernandez has released a broadleaf version of the Enclave.

My review sample exhibited a very smooth and dark wrapper with the expected sweet aroma of broadleaf, while the foot gave off light cocoa and leather scents. Overall, construction looked and felt excellent, with the cigar showing a nice firm bunch and a great cold draw. My morning accompanying beverage was a fresh-roasted Torquino/Serrano blend of coffee.

Read more...

A.J. Fernandez New World Puro Especial Robusto

AJF NWP ESP ROB 1October 2nd, 2017
 
Size of cigar: 5.5 inches by 52 ring gauge
Wrapper: Nicaraguan Habano
Binder: Nicaraguan Habano
Fillers: Nicaraguan

The New World Puro Especial is the third installment of the New World line by A.J. Fernandez. Like the New World and the New World Connecticut, the Puro Especial is a collaboration between AJ and his father, Ismael. The Puro Especial, a Nicaraguan Puro, is rolled in Esteli, Nicaragua.

Read more...

Hamlet 25th Year Master of Tobacco Robusto

Hamlet 25th Year Robusto 1September 7th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5½ inches by 50 ring gauge
Wrapper: Ecuadorian Habano
Binder: Pennsylvanian Broadleaf
Filler: Nicaraguan & Honduran

This is the second blend issued by Hamlet Paredes since he joined the Rocky Patel family.

The Robusto displayed a smooth medium-toned wrapper with a nice firm bunch. Both the wrapper and foot gave off a light nutty aroma, and the cold draw was perfect. My chosen beverage to accompany the cigar was a Karbach Love Street Kolsch, brewed in Houston.

Read more...