Advertisement

Boutique Brands

button

Who's visiting?

We have 286 guests and no members online

Cigar Reviews

Cigar Weekly's Top 10 of 2016 - Part 1

CW10 2016 1 3January 6th, 2017

Cigar Weekly presents its Top 10 Cigars of 2016: Part 1 of 3

Welcome to 2017, and the first official 'Top 10' published by Cigar Weekly!

2016 was a very interesting year in cigar-life, as manufacturers and consumers alike aimed for exciting new releases along with the continued availability of well established favorites.

Top 10 lists can generate a lot of emotions among people. Over the years, on our CW forums, staff and members would make mention of cigars they thought were great. And of course, we'd also delve into dissecting the other cigar magazines' Top 'X' lists. Whether you agree or disagree with the choices, these lists always attract a lot of attention and generate much discussion.

This year, we decided to do our own, and to do it OUR way - member created!

So here's what happened...

Read more...

Room 101 – A Back-to-Back Review

Room 101 1January 2nd, 2017

Cigar Weekly’s Jeff Slatton (jefslat) kicks off the New Year by offering up his impressions of two Room 101 cigars – the Johnny Tobacconaut Fileroid and the Chief Cool Arrow Ranflajo.

Read more...

Marrero Tesoro Mio Dos Capas

20161002 155900 resizedDecember 12th, 2016

I've had occasion to meet with Joel Marrero of Marrero Cigars on several occasions. (Atlanta is a great market for cigars.) Tommy Bender, one of our editors and long time members, met him and discussed his brand back at the 2015 edition of the IPCPR. Both Tommy and I consider Joel a friend of Cigar Weekly.

Last fall, when Joel was in town, we had the opportunity to have lunch together and talk cigars. What a discussion it was! Joel's passion for this business is vibrant, and this passion is exemplified by the quality of his cigars.

Read more...

Leaf by Oscar Corojo Gordo

Leaf by Oscar Corojo Gordo 1December 26th, 2016

When you get a Leaf by Oscar cigar, the first thing you notice is the packaging. Rather than settling for traditional cellophane or even paper wrappers (like those on OSOKs and the Room 101 Big Chief Cool Arrow), the Leaf is actually bound up in a tobacco leaf. That makes getting to the cigar kind of like unwrapping a gift.

After unwrapping, my cigar smells like a wonderful Corojo, with lots of spices in the aroma. Upon cutting and lighting, those spices do not disappoint. There’s a light bite of pepper on the tongue, and a more complex spice profile on the retro-hale.

Read more...

Serino Royale Medio Robusto Gordo

Serino Royale Medio Robusto Gordo 1December 1st, 2016

This is my second Cigar Weekly review of a cigar from a brand I call ‘perfection in every way possible’. The Serino Royale lineup encompasses four distinct blends – Connecticut, Medio, Maduro and Maduro XX. (I’ve previously reviewed the Sublime Maduro XX.) From personal experience with vitolas from the various blends, I can say without hesitation that all exhibit an uncommon degree of excellence, and that you can expect the same.

The Serino Royale Medio, which I’m profiling here, is offered in four sizes – a Belicoso measuring 5.5 inches by 60 ring gauge, a 5.75 by 54 Petite Sublime, a 5.5 by 60 Robusto Gordo (the one I’ve chosen for this review) and a 6 by 52 Toro. This particular line features Ecuadorian Habano Clara wrappers, and Nicaraguan filler leaves from Esteli and Jalapa.

Read more...

Blind Review 2016-05

December 22nd, 2016

Blind Review: Biely Robusto by Tirador Ramos Cigars

Welcome to Cigar Weekly's 2016 Blind Review Number 5 - from a little known boutique factory in NIcaragua.

Background

Cigar Weekly has a tradition of doing blind reviews of new and/or boutique cigars whenever the maker asks.

Cigar Weekly's blind reviews are scored by a panel, and averaged using 7 criteria within a 50 point scale.Collection

Criteria Max Score
Appearance /Construction 5
Burn 5
Draw 5
Aroma 5
Flavor 10
Taste/Aftertaste 10
Overall quality 10
Grand Total 50

How it works: Cigar Weekly members volunteer for the task, and are asked to complete the review by smoking both samples within a two to three week window. They are requested to take copious notes, and then to enter their data into an online form. It's the 21st century, right? We used to use paper…

We do not require that the maker be an advertiser, nor do we charge a fee for these reviews.

Read more...

La Galera Maduro Chaveta

La Galera Maduro Chaveta 1November 28th, 2016

Wrapper: San Andrés
Binder: Dominican
Filler: Dominican
Country of origin: Dominican Republic
Size of cigar: 5 inches by 50 ring gauge (Robusto)

Coffee and leather aromas are released from the very smooth wrapper and from the foot. The cigar boasts a firm bunch, and a clean clip leads to a smooth cold draw.

Read more...

A ‘Nickle Review’ on the Camacho Pre-Embargo

image1December 19th, 2016

Basic cigar parameters

Shape / size: Toro / 6 inches by 48 ring gauge
Strength: Medium to full
Wrapper: Vintage 1999 Jamastran Corojo
Origin: Honduras

Having been born shortly after establishment of the U.S. embargo on Cuba, I thought it would be cool to try these smokes. Allowing for the possibility that there might be very little of the famed (and venerable) Cuban filler in these smokes, I placed my order.

Read more...

The Gent Gordo: A Spicy Twist on Maduro

The Gent Gordo 1November 24th, 2016

Manufacturer: Paula Cigars
Size of cigar: 6 inches by 60 ring gauge

I've been enjoying this new blend from Paula Cigars since its pre-release about eight weeks ago. This boutique brand is extremely consistent in quality of construction and flavor. The company employs two rollers in the Dominican Republic, while the owner Paula and her husband roll stateside in New York City.

The silky smooth Habano Maduro wrapper signals the smoker that a top-notch experience lies ahead. This impression of quality continues with a binder comprised of Dominican and Ecuadorian premium leaves, which contribute to a solid feel in the hand.

Read more...

Lucious Lyon Robusto

Lucious Lyon Robusto 1December 15th, 2016

Size of cigar: 5½ inches by 50 ring gauge

There have certainly been cigars inspired by television shows or memorable characters before – to name a few, Sons of Anarchy, The Sopranos and even Duck Dynasty. Now along comes the Lucious Lyon brand from Meier and Dutch of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania.

In case you’re not familiar with the namesake character, Lucious Lyon is a renowned music mogul and charismatic anti-hero (portrayed by Terence Howard), and the protagonist of the hit show Empire. His story is not entirely dissimilar to that of the real life mogul, Jay Z.

At any rate, it is the essence of Lyon’s life of luxury that this cigar hopes to capture. There are three vitolas in the line – a Robusto, a Torpedo and a Toro. The cigar I’m reviewing is the Robusto, which is the smallest of the three.

Read more...

Santa Muerte Robusto

Santa Muerte Robusto 1November 21st, 2016

Producer: Black Label Trading Company
Made at: Fabrica Oveja Negra facility in Esteli, Nicaragua
Wrapper & Binder: Ecuadorian Habano
Filler leaves: Nicaraguan, Dominican & San Andrés

The beautifully smooth dark brown wrapper smells like leather and cocoa, while the foot smells the same with some pepper thrown in. The cold draw is perfect, as is the bunch. I give this cigar top marks for construction.

There is plentiful smoke on the initial draw, which reveals lots of flavor including pepper, leather and just a hint of cocoa. The draw remains perfect, and the burn is true.

These cigars were debuted at my local shop a few weeks ago. I got this one a day before lighting it up, and now am fully regretting not having made the launch event.

A flavor of almonds now develops to overtake the initial cocoa as the pepper notes back off some. The promise of complexity is quite pleasing. The burn remains even approaching the end of the first third.

Read more...