Advertisement

Boutique Brands

button

Who's visiting?

We have 334 guests and no members online

Cigar Reviews

AJ Fernandez Enclave Broadleaf Robusto

Enclave Robusto 1October 23rd, 2017

Vitola: Robusto (5 inches by 52 ring gauge)
MSRP: $9.00
Wrapper: Connecticut Broadleaf Maduro
Binder: Nicaraguan
Filler: Nicaraguan

Before I start my review, I must admit I am somewhat biased when it comes to the AJ Fernandez line. I am a big fan. Some of the first cigars I ever smoked were from this line. That being said, let’s get to the review.

When I first heard about the Enclave Broadleaf, I was a little thrown off. I was not a huge fan of the original Enclave. I thought it had a little too much pepper/spice for my liking. (I am going to try it again to see if that assessment stays the same.) But Kyle (an AJ rep) told me that the newer Enclave Broadleaf was not like the original, and suggested I think of it as a totally different cigar.

Read more...

White Hat Cigars Hirochi Robaina: A Triple Review

HR x 3 1October 16th, 2017

White Hat Cigars distributes the Hirochi Robaina (HR) line of cigars. If the name Hirochi Robaina sounds a little familiar to you, that’s probably because Hirochi is the grandson of revered Cuban tobacco grower and expert Don Alejandro Robaina. The HR line of cigars is made at the La Corona Factory in Esteli, Nicaragua.

Read more...

Drew Estate Herrera Estelí Miami Corona

Drew Estate Herrera Estelí Miami Corona 1September 18th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5.75 inches by 48 ring gauge
Wrapper: Ecuadorian Habano
Binder: Ecuadorian Sumatra
Fillers: Dominican & Nicaraguan

The Miami version of the Herrera Estelí blend is rolled at the El Titan factory, the ‘home’ factory of Willy Herrera.

Cloaked in an oily Colorado colored wrapper with one noticeable vein, my sample had a nice firm bunch. The wrapper and foot gave off aromas of leather, cocoa and cinnamon, while the cold draw of the Corona was perfect. My chosen accompanying beverage was a Real Ale Three Lions IPA.

Read more...

Case Study CS/01 Robusto

CS 01 Robusto 1October 9th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5 inches by 50 ring gauge

This review is truly a blind tasting write-up. My sample from the 2017 IPCPR show was given to me to review with no information other than the band on the cigar. I’d never heard of Case Study, and knew absolutely nothing about it. So I had no preconceived notions. I even resisted the temptation to google the brand before I fired the cigar up. You’ll find the leaf details and name of the manufacturer at the end of this piece. With that said, here’s what I found.

Read more...

A.J. Fernandez Enclave Broadleaf Robusto

AJ Fernandez Enclave Broadleaf Robusto 1September 11th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5 inches by 52 ring gauge
Wrapper: Connecticut Broadleaf
Filler leaves: Nicaraguan

New as of this summer, A.J. Fernandez has released a broadleaf version of the Enclave.

My review sample exhibited a very smooth and dark wrapper with the expected sweet aroma of broadleaf, while the foot gave off light cocoa and leather scents. Overall, construction looked and felt excellent, with the cigar showing a nice firm bunch and a great cold draw. My morning accompanying beverage was a fresh-roasted Torquino/Serrano blend of coffee.

Read more...

A.J. Fernandez New World Puro Especial Robusto

AJF NWP ESP ROB 1October 2nd, 2017
 
Size of cigar: 5.5 inches by 52 ring gauge
Wrapper: Nicaraguan Habano
Binder: Nicaraguan Habano
Fillers: Nicaraguan

The New World Puro Especial is the third installment of the New World line by A.J. Fernandez. Like the New World and the New World Connecticut, the Puro Especial is a collaboration between AJ and his father, Ismael. The Puro Especial, a Nicaraguan Puro, is rolled in Esteli, Nicaragua.

Read more...

Hamlet 25th Year Master of Tobacco Robusto

Hamlet 25th Year Robusto 1September 7th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5½ inches by 50 ring gauge
Wrapper: Ecuadorian Habano
Binder: Pennsylvanian Broadleaf
Filler: Nicaraguan & Honduran

This is the second blend issued by Hamlet Paredes since he joined the Rocky Patel family.

The Robusto displayed a smooth medium-toned wrapper with a nice firm bunch. Both the wrapper and foot gave off a light nutty aroma, and the cold draw was perfect. My chosen beverage to accompany the cigar was a Karbach Love Street Kolsch, brewed in Houston.

Read more...

Casa Cuevas Connecticut Robusto

Casa Cuevas Connecticut Robusto 1September 25th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5 inches by 52 ring gauge
Wrapper: Ecuadorian Connecticut
Binder: Nicaraguan
Filler: Dominican & Nicaraguan

This attractive cigar comes from Casa Cuevas Cigars, located in Miami, Florida. The blend consists of a golden Ecuadorian wrapper with Nicaraguan and Dominican long fillers.

I decided to pair this ‘morning cigar’ with Starbucks Sumatra black coffee. I typically smoke Connecticut cigars in the morning with coffee.

Read more...

Nat Sherman Sterling Short Robusto

Nat Sherman Sterling Short Robusto 1August 31st, 2017

Nat Sherman unveiled the Sterling at the 2013 IPCPR show as the 4th cigar line introduced under Michael Herklots (following on the heels of the 1930, and Timeless Dominican and Nicaraguan). The Sterling was blended as a mild cigar, which concentrated more on balance and flavor rather than on sheer strength.

The Short Robusto, which I’m reviewing here, is a new vitola to the line. The shortened Robusto format now seems to be the hot size in cigars. The Sterling adds a milder bodied cigar in the lineup, as the 1930 and both versions of the Timeless are medium to full-bodied. Let’s take a look at the specs.

Read more...

A Freyja Cigar with Rye Whisky

Freya Alberta Rye 1

September 21st, 2017

"Great things come in small packages," the saying goes. Tabacleria Palma in the Dominican Republic is a smaller factory, and just happens to make the brainchild cigar of Emma Victorson (wife of our good friend, Jose Blanco) - the Freyja.

The Freyja is not what you'd call a 'girly' cigar - not by any strech of the imagination. Rather, it's more like a Viking goddess - strong, smooth, comforting and fierce, all at the same time. So for this review, I decided to pair it with some Dark Batch Rye Whisky from Alberta Distillers (get the name!).

Let's talk about the rye first. And when I begin to describe the cigar, you'll know why pairing the Freyja with this spirit represents a 'match made in Heaven'.

Read more...

Southern Draw Jacobs Ladder Robusto

Southern Draw JLR 1August 28th, 2017

Cigar size: 5½ inches by 54 ring gauge

My sample sported a beautifully smooth dark wrapper, and displayed a firm bunch and a perfect draw. I sensed an aroma of dark chocolate from the shaggy foot and wrapper, while the cold draw exhibited more of a spicy vibe. Owner Robert Holt recommends smoking this one after a good meal.

Upon lighting, the initial notes were cayenne, dark chocolate and cedar. Some very rich, well-aged tobacco was also present. Even though the Robusto hadn’t knocked me over yet, it had already threatened me once. I told it, “F* you, I'm Milford!”, kept smoking, and began picking up some latte notes. The ash was a firm medium grey, and the burn was perfect.

Read more...