Advertisement

Boutique Brands

button

Who's visiting?

We have 230 guests and one member online

Cigar Reviews

Mike Bellody Imperia

Mike Bellody Imperia 1November 9th, 2016

Wrapper: High Priming Dominican Havana Vuelta Arriba
Binder: Dominican
Filler: Dominican & Nicaraguan

The Imperia boasts a smooth dark wrapper with aromas of leather and... peppermint? As confirmed by my wife, the wrapper does indeed smell of peppermint.

The cigar clips perfectly, and I cannot wait to fire this sucker up. I’m pairing it with my usual chocolate stout.

An ideal pre-light draw leads to a perfect lit draw. There is a sweetness to the smoke that draws to mind the flavor of – you guessed it – peppermint. However, there are lots of other flavors going on here as well, so this is no one-trick-pony cigar.

Read more...

Crowned Heads La Imperiosa Magicos

Crowned Heads La Imperiosa Magicos 1November 7th, 2016

Size of cigar: 4½ inches by 52 ring gauge

Knowledgeable cigar enthusiasts know the story of The Crowned Heads. Jon Huber and a few of his fellow employees split from CAO in 2010, and formed their own Nashville-based cigar company. Since then, the fledgling boutique cigar company has enjoyed incredible success.

Read more...

The Griffin's Maduro Toro

The Griffins Maduro Toro 1October 26th, 2016

Manufacturer: The Imperial Cigar Company (established 1993)
Size of cigar: 6¼ inches (159mm) by 52 ring gauge
Origin: Dominican Republic
Cost: €8.90

There’s a story behind this particular Griffin's cigar. When the Davidoff family moved from Russia to Geneva to open up a new tobacco store, Zino Davidoff grew interested in cigars. A Davidoff employee, Bernard H. Grober, then became one of the first Europeans to foresee the potential of making premium cigars in the Dominican Republic. There, Grober developed The Griffin's cigar line. Owing to the commercial connections and the name of his mentor, production and marketing of The Griffin’s expanded quickly.

Read more...

La Gran Llave Double Corona

La Gran Llave Double Corona 1November 3rd, 2016

This cigar represents another new release from the A.J. Fernandez Company.

Right off the bat, I sense cocoa notes from the wrapper. There’s a perfect cold draw along with some spices from the foot. The smooth box press speaks to the impressive construction.

At first, the flavors are deceptive, being very light on the way in and plentiful on the way out. Light cocoa notes mix with almost pipe tobacco flavors. Very light pepper notes are present in the nose.

The box press makes it very easy to hold and smoke this cigar. Something I failed to notice before is that the band denotes Reserva No. E560FE, so this may be a limited release.

The ash is a mottled grey, notably solid and with no flaking. The draw is very smooth and yields wonderful tobacco notes with very pleasant coffee and cocoa flavors. The burn is a bit slanted, but nothing crucial at this point.

I tap the ash at two inches, as it’s starting to curve. The end of the ash displays a nice conical burn, indicating the ligero is mostly in the center – another sign of excellent construction.

Read more...

A Cigar’s Tale ‘Short Story’ Review XXIV

A Cigars Tale Review XXIV 1October 20th, 2016

Today, I am reviewing yet another sample from the 2016 IPCPR. This cigar is the Hidden Treasure from USA Sales, Inc. It’s a Robusto, measuring 5.13 inches long by a 52 ring gauge. The Hidden Treasure has a Habano wrapper, and retails at a price somewhere between $7.49 and $9.99.

I had trouble finding information on this cigar, and requested some from the company via e-mail. However, at the time of writing this review, I had still not received a response. All I can say is that the band had ‘Dominican Republic’ printed on it, so I assume that country is where the Hidden Treasure originates from.

The wrapper had a light chocolate color, and presented with some notable medium and small sized veins.

The scents coming off the wrapper included notes of barnyard, earth, musk and avocado. The foot had a more pleasant aromatic presentation of raisin, cedar, coffee, black pepper, cream, caramel and cloves.

Read more...

El Güegüense Robusto

El Güegüense Robusto 1November 2nd, 2016

This Robusto sports a beautifully rendered brown wrapper and cap, and seems – from the unlit aroma – to promise an ideal medium to full flavor. I pick up more complex notes from the foot.

The cigar clips and lights easily, and proceeds to produce a near perfect draw. The generous initial draw delivers wonderfully toasted tobacco notes with back notes of almonds. The burn is fairly clean, and the ash is a medium to light grey. Plenty of smoke emits from this fine cigar.

There are nice medium flavors of tobacco and nuts, along with a hint of cinnamon, as the cigar develops. However, I do experience a bit of heat early on, indicating that I need to slow down a bit. The Ecuadorian coffee I’ve chosen to pair with the Robusto is proving a good match.

Read more...

Gurkha Red Witch Robusto

Gurkha Red Witch Robusto 1October 19th, 2016

Size of cigar: 5 inches by 52 ring gauge

I enjoy cigars and the cigar life, and am a cigar enthusiast. I have never claimed to be an expert, but I do know a little about cigars. As an enthusiast who does occasional reviews, I feel it is my job to give you the basics of the cigar – the practical information you want to know before you purchase a particular cigar. I’m not going to dazzle you with arcane information and minutiae. I simply try to supply you with the nuts and bolts of a cigar. If you want purple prose about a cigar’s flavor and the employment history of the blender, I’m not your guy. On the other hand, if you want to know a fellow enthusiast’s succinct opinion, read on. This time around, I’m reviewing Gurkha’s East India Trading Company Red Witch Robusto.

Read more...

Crowned Heads Triple Review

Crowned Heads Triple Review 1October 31st, 2016

Crowned Heads is a boutique brand committed to producing high-quality cigars that combine tradition and innovation. The company’s cigars are highly regarded by the premium cigar industry and smokers alike. Cigar Weekly member Jon Huber is a member of their team. And according to Huber, business is booming for Crowned Heads. New at the 2016 edition of the IPCPR were two lines – Las Mareas and Le Carème.

* * * * *

The Las Mareas is produced by the Garcia family (of My Father fame) using a Corojo wrapper.

I pick up hints of nutmeg and cocoa from the wrapper and foot. The construction is beautiful, with one vein running at an angle from the first third down. A clean clip with my Palio enables a satisfying medium cold draw. This is one of Jon Huber's Crowned Heads marque, so I am going in with high expectations. The cold draw proceeds to yield notes of leather and cocoa.

Read more...

Decadence for Everyone: Maduro Gordo by Paula Cigars

Decadence for Everyone Maduro Gordo 1October 17th, 2016

For me, the anticipation of smoking this Maduro Gordo rivals the feeling one has when planning that special time to break into one’s finest, aged, top-shelf smokes – perhaps a Limited Edition Arturo Fuente, an Anniversary Padron, a Salamanca Mesmerize, Matthew or 1502 XO, a Tatuaje TAA or AVO LE. (For me, it’s usually my Liga Privadas.) Whatever it is for you, it's a special moment – not the least because of being able to share with friends the cigar’s taste, aroma and source (from which your friends can then buy their own). Although at Paula's pricing, you can afford to be generous.

So today is your lucky day, because I'm about to share with you a smoking experience that will hopefully be one you get to enjoy for yourself.

I'm speaking of a cigar that hails from the Dominican Republic, and comes by way of New York City. I have had the good fortune of obtaining these cigars in the Gordo size format, which is my favorite, but for now is in limited production.

Read more...

Oliva O Belicoso

Oliva O Belicoso 1October 27th, 2016

Cigar size: 5½ inches by 52 ring gauge
Provenance: Nicaraguan puro

Initial impressions

Prominently thin veins ran along the front and sides of the cigar. The wrapper was a nearly seamless Connecticut broadleaf Maduro, which surrounded Nicaraguan Habano filler leaves. I trimmed the top with a V-cut in order to provide more air flow than a standard straight cut would have provided.

Read more...

A Cigar’s Tale ‘Short Story’ Review XXIII

A Cigars Tale Review XXIIIOctober 17th, 2016

Today, I am reviewing another sample from the 2016 IPCPR show – the Reserve Champagne 10th-Anniversary from Perdomo. Now, I know you’re probably thinking that this is not a new cigar. And you’ll be right. That said, the Perdomo was sent to me to assess with the understanding it did indeed come from this year’s IPCPR show. So I’m going to do my review thing regardless.

This particular 10th-Anniversary came to me in the Epicure (Toro, measuring 5 inches by 54 ring gauge) size. It sported a Connecticut wrapper along with a Nicaraguan binder and filler.

Upon visual inspection, I took note of the light brown wrapper, which had some small veins and visible seems. The wrapper was smooth, and the cigar firm. The aroma coming off the wrapper included scents of leather, dried fruit, mushroom and oak, while the foot gave off some raisin, brown sugar, green pepper and almond.

After cutting the cap, I took a couple of cold draws just to see what I could pick up. The cold draw produced notes of salt, black pepper, clay, earth and peanut.

Read more...