Advertisement

Boutique Brands

button

Who's visiting?

We have 128 guests and no members online

Cigar Reviews

Recluse Amadeus Habano Reserva Robusto

Recluse Amadeus Habano Reserva Robusto 1September 24th, 2016

From the press release: “The Recluse Amadeus Habano Reserva is the newest blend from Iconic Leaf. With its Habano wrapper, Mexican San Andrés binder and a variety of Dominican fillers, including Pennsylvania Broadleaf, this is a specially blended tobacco flavored trifecta! The flavor profile is a recipe for delight... toasty nuts, woodsy cedar aside mellow chicory, creamy caramel, and a touch of sweet cherry and raisins. Black pepper balances the smooth flavors with a bit of tongue-pleasing bite of zing! It's a medium to full-bodied smoke with excellent construction for the ultimate smoking experience! So gather your senses and get ready for an alluring seduction of brilliantly blended tobaccos and flavor enhancements. This is a smoke to share with friends or to simply enjoy on your own. Whichever you decide, you'll be glad you've uncovered the Recluse Amadeus Habano Reserva and made it your own!”

Read more...

IPCPR: Hits and Misses 3

September 22nd, 2016

PUBLISHER'S NOTE: Our intrepid reporters, jefslat (Jeff Slatton) and his lovely bride, attended the recent IPCPR show in Las Vegas. They collected many samples from the vendors there. On a volunteer basis, these cigars were sent to readers with the agreement that they would write regarding what they did and didn't like about the new offerings from the show. It has come to my attention that a number of the cigars at this year's show were actually released last year, as pending new FDA regulations would make it prohibitively expensive for smaller manufacturers to create new blends. The following reviews were submitted by Briandg (Brian Gardner). There will be an ongoing series of these reviews until all of the material submitted is exhausted. There will likely be some overlap of some brands and vitolas, as the manufacturers provided multiple samples for review.

Read more...

IPCPR: Hits and Misses 1

September 8th, 2016

PUBLISHER'S NOTE: Our intrepid reporters, jefslat (Jeff Slatton) and his lovely bride, attended the recent IPCPR show in Las Vegas. They collected many samples from the vendors there. On a volunteer basis, these cigars were sent to readers with the agreement that they would write regarding what they did and didn't like about the new offerings from the show. It has come to my attention that a number of the cigars at this year's show were actually released last year, as pending new FDA regulations would make it prohibitively expensive for smaller manufacturers to create new blends. The following reviews were submitted by Briandg (Brian Gardner). There will be an ongoing series of these reviews until all of the material submitted is exhausted. There will likely be some overlap of certain brands and vitolas, as the manufacturers provided multiple samples for review.

Read more...

IPCPR: Hits and Misses 2

September 21st, 2016

PUBLISHER'S NOTE: Our intrepid reporters, jefslat (Jeff Slatton) and his lovely bride, attended the recent IPCPR show in Las Vegas. They collected many samples from the vendors there. On a volunteer basis, these cigars were sent to readers with the agreement that they would write regarding what they did and didn't like about the new offerings from the show. It has come to my attention that a number of the cigars at this year's show were actually released last year, as pending new FDA regulations would make it prohibitively expensive for smaller manufacturers to create new blends. The following reviews were submitted by Briandg (Brian Gardner). There will be an ongoing series of these reviews until all of the material submitted is exhausted. There will likely be some overlap of some brands and vitolas, as the manufacturers provided multiple samples for review.

Read more...

Serino Sublime XX Maduro

Serino Sublime XX Maduro 1September 5th, 2016

Having received an IPCPR ‘gourmet’ cigar sampler from the kind folks at Cigar Weekly, but with no accompanying information, I will kick off this review of the Serino Sublime XX Maduro with some quoted text.

“The strongest of the line is Maduro XX, using an Ecuadorian Habano 2000 Oscuro Maduro wrapper over the aforementioned Nicaraguan binder and fillers. It's offered in Robusto (5 1/8 x 48), Belicoso (5 1/2 x 52), Toro (6 x 52) and Sublime (6 1/4 x 54). All four blends are offered in boxes of 20 with suggested retail pricing between $11.50-12.95 per cigar.”

Read more...

A Cigar's Tale Review XVII

A Cigars Tale Review XVII 1September 19th, 2016

Cigar name: The King Is Dead
Cigar brand: Caldwell Cigar Co
Wrapper: Dominican Republic (Natural)
Binder: Dominican Republic (Chrono)
Filler: Dominican Republic
Vitola reviewed: Premier (5 inches by 50 ring gauge)
Strength: Medium
Body: Medium
Price: $8.59

Visual

Taking a look at this dark brown cigar, I take notice of a slight tooth. The seams are tight, the cigar is firm, and I find no flaws on the wrapper.

Cold aroma

The scents coming off of the wrapper are floral, leathery, cedar-like and – believe it or not – offer a hint of what I can only describe as Coca Cola. The foot presents with more raisin, toffee, cream and hay
.
Cold draw

After cutting the cap, I take a couple pre-light draws to see what flavors I can pick up. I get notes of salt, peanut, cedar, flowers and grass.

Read more...

A Cigar's Tale Review XV

A Cigars Tale Review XV 1September 5th, 2016

Breaking from my normal format, I have a special 3-in-1 review for you today. I am reviewing a cigar that is available with three different wrappers. Below, I will show you how a wrapper can change a cigar’s profile, even when the same binder and fillers are present. I hope you enjoy my write-up.

Cigar name: Modella
Cigar brand: Catelli
Binder: Nicaraguan
Filler: Nicaraguan
Vitola reviewed: Girl Next Door
Size: 5 inches by 50 ring gauge
Strength: Medium+
Body: Full
Price: Sample

1. Wrapper: Ecuadorian Connecticut

Visual

As I look over this light caramel-colored cigar, I take note of the toothiness, firmness and solid construction. There are a few small veins and soft spots. The seams are tight and almost nonexistent.

Cold aroma

Checking out the aroma from the wrapper, I pick up cream, toffee, white pepper, oak and raisin – a very pleasant combination. The foot has some good things happening, as scents of hay, vanilla, cloves, oak and raisin come together nicely.

Read more...

A Cigar's Tale Review XVI

A Cigars Tale Review XVI 1September 19th, 2016

Cigar name: Cobra
Cigar brand: Cartel Cigar Co.
Wrapper: Nicaraguan Habano
Binder: Nicaraguan Habano
Filler: Nicaraguan
Vitola reviewed: Robusto (5 inches by 50 ring gauge)
Strength: Medium +
Body: Full
Price: Unavailable at time of review

Visual

As I gaze upon the Nicaraguan puro, I take note of the wrapper’s characteristics. The first thing I see is the milk chocolate color Habano outer leaf, which is smooth to the touch. There are some small veins present, and the seams are tight. Construction is very good, as expected, since Aging Room personnel are responsible for rolling these cigars.

Cold aroma

The scents coming off of the wrapper continue to tell the story. There are hints of leather, cedar, hay and a slight barnyard note. The foot adds a few other flavors to the nose that include molasses, licorice, hay, barnyard, grass, raisin and sweet tobacco. So far, everything is coming together nicely.

Read more...

Don Toribio Connecticut Toro

Don Toribio Connecticut Toro 1August 29th, 2016

What is this? What’s happening? It’s a Sunday afternoon, which represents about my only time ‘off’ during the week, and I’m not running all over the place. The way my life plays out, Sunday afternoon usually becomes my personal ‘go-time’ – not an optimum state of affairs. But this time around, and for whatever reason, circumstances have allowed me an early start. It’s time for a little enjoyment. And that hopefully means a good cigar and an opportunity to catch up on my IPCPR cigar review assignments.

I reach into my bag of goodies (kindly collected by Jeff and distributed by Cigar Weekly management – Jason and John), and select a cigar I’ve never heard of before. Although an erstwhile cigar writer, I find it almost impossible to keep up with all of the brands that now grace the market. After all, there’s so much happening in this world and in daily life. So it’s not a surprise to me that there’s something in my ‘treasure box’ I’ve not had or heard of. Say ‘good afternoon’ to a Don Toribio Connecticut.

Read more...

REVIEW: V-Gar

vgar3September 12th, 2016

Recently, I was contacted by a manufacturer's representative about the possibility of reviewing the first electronic cigar on the market.

Being a cigarette as well as a cigar smoker, I had tried several of the e-cigs on the market, with mixed results. While they provided me with the nicotine I enjoy, and the opportunity to 'smoke' in my home office or truck without offending the olfactory systems of the three females I share a home with (Disclosure: They are my wife and two daughters--get your minds out of the gutter!), I had yet to find one that actually tasted good to me. As such, I was initially skeptical of the concept of an E-cigar.

Tobacco has such a varied and encompassing taste that I couldn't see how the complex flavors of a cigar could be duplicated in vapor form.

Read more...

What's In Your Humidor

Whats In Your Humidor 1August 29th, 2016

I’m often asked what my favorite cigar is. After 20 years of smoking cigars, you’d think I’d have a good answer, right? Some people want to know because they’d like to buy a gift for their favorite cigar aficionado, and want to make sure they buy something good. Others are asking for themselves because they want to buy a box (which is the most economical way to buy cigars), but don't want to spend $100 to $200 (and in some cases more) without being sure that they’ll like them. So they’re looking for a recommendation.

Truthfully, I have trouble narrowing any selection down to one specific cigar, or even brand. I love variety (among medium to full bodied cigars, that is), prefer a toothy Maduro wrapper when I can get one and tend to favor Nicaraguan fillers. That said, I’m open to trying anything that looks tasty.

Read more...