Advertisement

Boutique Brands

button

Who's visiting?

We have 374 guests and no members online

Cigar Reviews

Case Study CS/04 Torpedo

Case Study CS 04 Torpedo 1December 18th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5.5 inches by 52 ring gauge

The Case Study line comes from Ventura Cigar Company. In reality, there are 26 Case Study blends. Each blend is available in one to four vitolas. The 26 blends pay homage to 26 famous homes built in the simplistic, modernist architectural design and located in Los Angeles – hence the simple labeling.

Read more...

Black Label Trading Company Last Rites Petite Lancero

Last Rites Petite Lancero 1December 4th, 2017

Size of cigar: 6.5 inches by 42 ring gauge

This cigar has a very nice, smooth Maduro wrapper. The bunch is firm with no soft spots, and the wrapper gives off an aroma of cocoa nibs and leather along with some spices. The cold draw is perfect. My chosen accompanying beverage is a Southern Star Winter Warmer Ale.

The initial draws off the cigar are full bodied with plentiful smoke. There are leather and spice notes. The construction looks very good, with a clean burn and a layered medium grey ash evident. The ale provides a good pairing, with tastes that enhance the flavors of the cigar.

Read more...

Case Study CS/02 Robusto

Case Study CS 02 Robusto 1October 30th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5 inches by 50 ring gauge

At the 2017 IPCPR Convention, Ventura Cigar Company introduced a new, broad line of cigars. Actually, they introduced 26 new lines.

This massive product launch is notable for more than its size. First, the lines commemorate 26 iconic, post-World War II homes in the Los Angeles area that were built in the minimalist, modernistic aesthetic. The 26 unique blends pay homage, with their straight-forward black and white bands, to the simple and efficient styles of the homes.

Read more...

Case Study CS/03 Toro

Case Study CS 03 Toro 1November 27th, 2017

Size of cigar: 6 inches by 50 ring gauge

Until recently, The Ventura Cigar Company (of Ventura, California) had produced ten lines of cigars. Then along came the Case Study line (a prodigious effort), which comprises, in fact, twenty-six different lines. The different blends utilized represent homages to architects of twenty-six famous post-war Los Angeles-area homes. These houses, which have been featured in numerous films, were designed by renowned architects in a minimalist, modernist aesthetic.

Read more...

Why You May Want to Complement Your Usual Cigar with Dokha

Dokha 1October 26th, 2017

As is the case with cigars, dokha comes from a rich and varied history. Dokha has been cultivated in the Arabian region for more than 500 years, making it one of the oldest types of tobacco in the Middle East. It first appeared during the 1400s in the northern region of what is now known as Iran. Dokha is a tobacco that is naturally grown in the Arabian region’s arid desert climate.

Originally smoked by sailors out at sea, dokha subsequently became the widely preferred tobacco within the Ottoman Empire. Its popularity grew even more when the Ottoman Empire unsuccessfully attempted to ban and outlaw the smoking of all tobacco.

Read more...

UK Supermarket Cigars - Part 1

UK Supermarket Cigars P1 1November 20th, 2017

With a continued decline in the number of tobacconist shops, I was recently asked by somebody what over the counter cigars in the UK were like.

I have been buying my cigars online for a while now. But I thought that it might be worth my while to try out some of those available over the counter in the UK.

It's worth pointing out that only budget cigars are available over the counter in the UK. And by law, they must be stored out of sight. So finding out what shops actually stock can be a problem at times. Your best chance of getting a decent cigar (other than from a dedicated tobacconist) is to search out some of the independent whisky shops, as these can offer up a surprising array of decent cigars (albeit in very limited quantities).

Read more...

AJ Fernandez Enclave Broadleaf Robusto

Enclave Robusto 1October 23rd, 2017

Vitola: Robusto (5 inches by 52 ring gauge)
MSRP: $9.00
Wrapper: Connecticut Broadleaf Maduro
Binder: Nicaraguan
Filler: Nicaraguan

Before I start my review, I must admit I am somewhat biased when it comes to the AJ Fernandez line. I am a big fan. Some of the first cigars I ever smoked were from this line. That being said, let’s get to the review.

When I first heard about the Enclave Broadleaf, I was a little thrown off. I was not a huge fan of the original Enclave. I thought it had a little too much pepper/spice for my liking. (I am going to try it again to see if that assessment stays the same.) But Kyle (an AJ rep) told me that the newer Enclave Broadleaf was not like the original, and suggested I think of it as a totally different cigar.

Read more...

CAO Amazon Anaconda

CAO Amazon Anaconda 1November 6th, 2017

Size of cigar: 6.0 inches by 52 ring gauge
Wrapper: Brazilian Bahiano Habano
Binder: Nicaraguan
Fillers: Colombian, Dominican, Brazilian Braganca and Fume em Corda

Debuting at the 2017 IPCPR, the CAO Amazon Anaconda represents the final installment in the CAO Amazon Trilogy. Due to restricted accessibility of the tobacco and where it is grown, this is a limited release. According to General Cigar, the Anaconda is likely the only cigar on the market that utilizes a Brazilian Bahiano leaf as its wrapper.

Read more...

White Hat Cigars Hirochi Robaina: A Triple Review

HR x 3 1October 16th, 2017

White Hat Cigars distributes the Hirochi Robaina (HR) line of cigars. If the name Hirochi Robaina sounds a little familiar to you, that’s probably because Hirochi is the grandson of revered Cuban tobacco grower and expert Don Alejandro Robaina. The HR line of cigars is made at the La Corona Factory in Esteli, Nicaragua.

Read more...

Macanudo Inspirado 'White' Robusto

Macanudo Inspirado White Robusto 1November 2nd, 2017

Macanudo. Now there's a name that brings many differing thoughts to mind whenever cigar smokers see or hear it! Speaking personally, the mention of Macanudo takes me right back to a time twenty years ago when I was just beginning my cigar journey. Little did I know at the time what that journey might entail.

Numerous seasoned cigar lovers count Macanudos among their starter cigars. Some have called them ‘bubblegum cigars’ or ‘lightweights’ (even to the extent of labeling them as ‘for lightweights’) due to their mild character. Many have stated they smoked Macanudos early on and then never returned to them.

For me, every single Macanudo I’ve smoked has brought me enjoyment. I find there is just the slightest hint of sweetness to their character. They’ve always been impeccably constructed, and have usually exhibited some of the smoothest and most visually appealing Connecticut-shade wrapper leaves available in the world of fine cigars.

Read more...

Case Study CS/01 Robusto

CS 01 Robusto 1October 9th, 2017

Size of cigar: 5 inches by 50 ring gauge

This review is truly a blind tasting write-up. My sample from the 2017 IPCPR show was given to me to review with no information other than the band on the cigar. I’d never heard of Case Study, and knew absolutely nothing about it. So I had no preconceived notions. I even resisted the temptation to google the brand before I fired the cigar up. You’ll find the leaf details and name of the manufacturer at the end of this piece. With that said, here’s what I found.

Read more...